Real world anxieties translated online

I have never been an exceptionally social person.  Not that I don’t like people or socializing, but I am TERRIBLE at being the one to reach out, try to make friends, make the first move.  I have been this way for as long as I can remember.  Waiting for the phone to ring instead of calling someone myself.  Waiting for a friend to ring the doorbell instead of them seeking me out.

Now…many years later….I am finding I have the same anxieties about online interactions (Twitter, FB, Blog Comments, etc.).  I have developed a solid group of other moms and people that I follow on social media.  I have just recently begun interacting with them instead of simply ready through feeds.  I feel like this is putting myself out there and I feel the same twinge of possible rejection.  Is this crazy?

Leave a Reply

