Mommy Comparisons

male-and-female-relationship-signThe big push in the world of blogs right now seems to be 1 of 2 things.  The first are those older parents writing letters to the teens of America (i.e. Mrs. Hall).  The second are the ones that I am seeing more and more often.  Those are the blogs that are discussing why us moms find the need to compare ourselves to other moms.  I personally like to believe that I run my family in the way that is best for our circumstances and try desperately hard not to compare myself to all of the other moms that I know.

My take on this situation falls into a slightly different category.  Why are we not seeing blog after blog about dads that compare themselves to other dads?  Is it because we, are woman, are more competitive with each other?  Is it that there are just an overwhelmingly larger number of women writing on the internet than men?

Last night I asked my husband if he ever finds himself comparing himself to other dads.  He didn’t even hesitate before giving the answer, “No not really.”  Now, don’t get me wrong.  My husband, of course, wants to be the best father possible.  He has a lot of friends who are fathers of children around our children’s age.  But they seem to be more accepting of each other and their different parenting styles than we are as women.

Have any of you found this to be true?  Are you husbands/significant others the same as mine?

Leave a Reply

